Miss England: Rachel Christie Wins!!!!

Big congrats to 21 year old Rachel Christie who has been crowned Miss England 2009.

Winner Rachel Christie

Rachel has made history by being the first black winner of this competition.

Rachel Christie

Rachel Christie

Rachel poses with Ksenia Sukinova the current Miss World (who resembles Heroes star Hayden Panettiere). As Miss England, Rachel will compete in Miss World 2009

Miss World and Miss England

Speaking exclusively to FLYER Rachel said ‘I just can’t believe it’

Sade Says brings you a snippet from Rachel’s interview just after she won!

FLYER: How did you get into modelling?

Rachel: I was approached when I was thirteen when doing Rollerblading in Notting hill Skate park and appeared on the cover of a magazine but I never really took modelling that seriously. I hope to become an Olympic 400 metre runner.

FLYER: Your uncle Linford Christie is famous did he inspire you?

Rachel: Linford has encouraged me but mainly on my technique for sprinting. The main inspiration for this is from my athletics coach, John Smith who trains the girls at Thames Valley athletic club.

FLYER: Who was supporting you tonight?

Rachel: My mother was here today to support me but in all the excitement she split her dress and has gone home to fix it. I hope my achievements will encourage more from minority backgrounds to follow their dreams. I am very proud of to have been born in the UK and to represent the UK.

Caprice and Miss England

Glad to hear Rachel was unofficially the bookies favourite as her win took the audience by surprise.

Sade Says its all about taking part but winning does feel great!!!!

Images courtesy of Flyer Newspaper

Leave a Reply

